‘Eat that Frog with a Pomodoro’

Ayesha Rizvi
2 min readApr 16, 2021

--

A very common issue that arises with most people is poor time management. With a handful of tasks to complete and double the amount of distractions, it becomes tougher to get things done efficiently in a short amount of time. There a several possible ways to stay focused while you get the task done and one of those techniques is termed as ‘Eat that Frog with a Pomodoro.’

What it Means

A pomodoro is the Italian word for a tomato whereas the frog represents that one task you are aching to delay since it least interests you. ‘Eating the frog’ symbolizes overcoming the habit of procrastinating and getting the task done. Most people may have already used a similar technique at some point in their lives unnoticeably to complete a task before its deadline. However, this method is more focused on a 25 minute window for focusing on a small section of a large task continuously before rewarding yourself with a break after you have used that wisely. I recently experimented with this method myself and decided to share my experience on this platform. The Pomodoro method goes as follows:

1. Decide on the task to be done: I chose to complete my superhero resume in this timeframe.

2. Set the Pomodoro timer (alarm) to 25 minutes

3. Work on the task until the timer rings: Try to eliminate any distractions in this period.

4. After the timer tings, put a star (or a tick) on a piece of paper: This action adds a sens of achievement and motivates you to continue working efficiently.

5. Take a short 3–5 minute break: This time helps you reflect back on your progress and resume your work with a fresher state of mind.

6. Repeat steps 1–4

My Experience

This procrastination busting technique was a totally new technique but not so difficult to perform. It helped reduce the frequency of distractions I would normally get attracted to otherwise. The timer helped keep my vision focused on completing the resume and helped me feel better when I had completed it within two timer settings. The short 3 minute break helped me continue working with a similar level of energy in the next timer session as well. Overall, I enjoyed using this technique and will definitely use it in the future to ‘eat’ all the ‘frogs’ I face on a daily basis.

P.S. I would like to acknowledge the Amal Academy Fellowship for introducing me to this tip.

--

--